Kuchipudi Darpanam, A Big Draw

Kuchipudi Guru and disciple of Late Dr. Vempati Chinna Satyam was in the Pearl City to brush up the basics of Kuchipudi to die-hard artists. The five-day workshop held from June 10-15, in association with Dr. Yashoda Thakore’s Rinda Saranya Kuchipudi Art Academy culminated in the presentation of Kuchipudi Darpanam at Shilparamam Madhapur on Sunday last.  

The team of dancers from Hyderabad and New Delhi began with Poorvarangam. The highlight of the evening was Swarajathi in Vasanta Ragam a choreography of Padma Bhushan Late Dr. Vempati Chinna Satyam. The talented group showcased various items of the Kuchipudi repertoire like Vani ki Vandanam, Dasavataram, Aura Sabdam, Tulsidas Kirtan, Koluvaitiva and Brindavana Saranga Thillana. The ‘Swarajati’ presented during the performance was the outcome of the learnings of the workshop.

Disciples of Gurus Seetha Nagajothy and P Nagajothy from New Delhi presented a unique collection of traditional and creative choreographies in Kuchipudi Darpanam. The Gurus are well-established names in Kuchipudi who have created their own niche in terms of style and performance. Seetha, who learnt the art in the 1960’s from Padma Bhushan Late Dr. Vempati Chinna Satyam and taught at Kuchipudi Art Academy in Chennai & Hyderabad, till the mid-80s has trained many dancers like Dr. Yashoda Thakore, in Hyderabad, who sweetly address her as ‘Seetha Teacher’. The Nagajothy couple brought together their disciples from Delhi and Hyderabad to showcase both from their own creative vocabulary and traditional numbers.

Addressing the gathering, Chief Guest, V. Sheshadri, IAS, Principal Secretary to Chief Minister, Telangana, congratulated the Gurus for the scintillating performance of their students. He praised Guru Seetha Nagajyothy as a prominent torch bearer of the Kuchipudi art form and expressed happiness that his daughter Shriya was under her tutelage.

The team of dancers included Prof. TG Rupa, Sai Sirisha Bhamidi, L. Shruti, Shriya Sheshadri, Kavya Gopalakrishnan, Rudra Vaishnavi Karanam, Sivani, Keertana Subramaniam, Sai Yutika, P. Charvi, Sri Megha M, Sri Manaswi M and Charitha.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap