Dance Courses

Times are changing and they have changed. Gone are the days when one had to follow passion with a regular course of study. Today, one can follow passion as a course subject and find gainful employment. Natyahasini puts together courses in Dance for the benefit of art lovers. Go ahead and seize the opportunity.

Potti Sreeramulu Telugu University

Potti Sreeramulu Telugu University has been imparting higher education in traditional, dance, literature, history, language, journalism and fine arts since its inception in 1985. Named after Amarajevi Potti Sreeramulu, the University headed by Neetu Kumari Prasad has four constituent centers located in Telangana and Andhra Pradesh states – School of Folk and Tribal lore-Warangal, Nannyya Sahitya Pitam – Rajamandry, Sri Siddhendra Yogi Kala Pitam – Kuchipudi, School of History, Culture and Archaeology – Srisailam.

PSTU provides quality training, teaching and research leading to diplomas, master and doctoral degrees in innovative and traditional courses. 

At the Department of Dance, following courses are taught:
M.P.A – Kuchipudi/Andhra Natyam
Ph.D. – Dance
Diploma – Kuchipudi/Andhra Natyam
Diploma – Yakshaganam
Diploma – Sathvikabinayam

Potti Sreeramulu Telugu University
Lalitha Kala Kshetram, Public Gardens
Hyderabad 500 004

University of Hyderabad

The University of Hyderabad through the Sarojini Naidu School of Arts & Communication runs the following departments: Department of Communication, Department of Dance, Department of Fine Arts, Department of Theatre Arts and Department of Music.

The Department of Dance, Sarojini Naidu School of Arts and Communication, was established in 1988 to impart training in classical dance styles of Kuchipudi and Bharatanatyam for post-graduate studies at the University level. The aim was to sharpen student’s technique and craft, analyse classical dance forms through closer study of aesthetic theories expounded in ancient Sanskrit texts, and make critical interventions in bridging gap between theory and practice. The department also trains students in various professional aspects such as choreography, stage presentation in all its component aspects, rasaabhinaya, dance music and dance music composition, art management and digital arts, international understanding of Indian classical dance, dance history, natya sastra, dance appreciation and dance research.

The Masters in Performing Arts (dance) is an intense full-time two-year programme. It is a well-balanced course, in terms of theory and practice and is spread over four semesters. The course structure provides scope to build up dance performance and scholarship, give insight into the practical and theoretical understanding of various dance forms, and, initiates students into research and pedagogy.

The doctoral programme offers scope for students and scholars to specialise in minute niche fields of dance. The programme is administered as per UGC norms. The programme aims at making inroads between dance research and other related areas such as performance studies, linguistics, literature, history, cultural studies, politics, psychology, gender studies etc.

Professors teaching in the department include: Anuradha. J, Ph.D. (Dance) (Hyderabad) – Theoretical Aspects and Kinesthetics of Dance, Kuchipudi Practical and Choreography; Pasumarthy Ramalinga Sastry, Diploma (Kalakshetra, Chennai) – Bharatanatyam – Practical, Theory, Choreography; M.S. Siva Raju, Ph.D. (Dance) (Hyderabad) – Comparative Dance Studies, Musical Aspects of Dance, Movement for Dance and Choreography; Aruna Bhikshu, Ph.D. (Dance) (Hyderabad) – Applied Theory and Dance Studies, Abhinaya (Head of the Department)

 Prof. CR Rao Road
 Phone: 040-23130000 

Sri Thyagaraja Government College of Music & Dance

Aimed at preserving and promoting country’s music and dance, Sri Thyagaraja Government College of Music and Dance was established in 1952 in Ramkote, Hyderabad. The College offers both South Indian and North Indian styles of music and dance. They are Carnatic and Hindustani music, and dance forms like Kathak, Bharatanatyam, Kuchipudi and Perini. The College offers both Certificate and Diploma courses where the minimum age to join is 10 years.

 Sri Thyagaraja Government College of Music & Dance
 Eden Bagh, Ramkote
 Hyderabad – 500001
040 – 2475 8090 

Sri Annamacharya Government College of Music & Dance

Sri Annamacharya Government College of Music & Dance which is run under the Department of Language and Culture of Telangana offers two dance forms – Kuchipudi and Perini. The College offers Certificate and Diploma courses. The Certificate and Diploma examination is conducted by the Telugu University. 

 Sri Annamacharya Government College of Music & Dance
 13-6-438/A/62/1, Susheel Nivas, 
 Satyanarayana Colony, 
 Karwan Post, Gudimalkapur
 Phone: 040 – 2352 3850 

Sri Bhaktha Ramadasu Govt. College of Music and Dance

Another college which falls under the Department of Language and Culture, Telangana Government, offers three courses in Dance – Perini, Kuchipudi and Bharatanatyam. The Principal of this College is Smt. K Varalakshmiamma.

 Sri Bhaktha Ramadasu Govt. College of Music and Dance
 Bapuji Nagar, Musheerabad
 Secunderabad 500020
 040 - 2780 1788 

Vasavi College of Music and Dance

Vasavi College of Music & Dance, sponsored by Vasavi Academy of Education, was established on 18 June 1996 to develop and popularise Classical Music and Dance. At this College two dance forms – Bharatanatyam and Kuchipudi are taught.

 Vasavi College of Music & Dance
 H.No. 3-6-215 Street No. 15 
 Himayath Nagar 
 Hyderabad - 500 029 
 +91 - 40 - 23260443