Krishnam Vande Jagadgurum, A Hit With Rasikas

Snehalatha Naroju

The Leelas of Sri Krishna are always heard and watched with fascination. Recently, SriPada SriVallabha Kuchipudi Arṭ Academy students under the guidance and led by their Guru Snehalatha Naroju presented “Krishnam Vande Jagadgurum”, a Kuchipudi thematic dance presentation at Shilparamam Madhapur on the last Saturday of March. The Kuchipudi Dance presentation depicting Lord Sri Krishna’s glory, greatness and his divine Leelas were well brought out by adopting different compositions of Vaggeyakara Keerthanas.            

The evening’s performance began by offering salutations to Lord Ganesha through “Mushika Vahana”, followed by an invocation of Sri Balamurali Krishna’s “Jhem Jhem Thanana”. The ball was set rolling by welcoming Lord Sri Krishna through “Swagatham Krishna”, a composition of Uthukadu Venkata Kavi. This was aptly followed by appearance and attributes of Lord Sri Krishna through a song named “Marakatha Manimaya Chela Krishna”.

Adi Sankaracharya’s “Krishnam Vande Jagadgurum-Krishnashtakam” describing the Godliness and worldliness of Lord Sri Krishna was beautifully presented mesmerizing the audience present. A glimpse from Bhagavat Gita to depict Lord Krishna’s Jagadguru Thathva or Krishna’s mission was also included to remind that the Lord would return to the earth whenever there is an imbalance of the positive and negative forces, to restore equilibrium and peace.

The greatest Leelas of Lord Sri Krishna were witnessed in the performance by Snehalatha Naroju on Sri Tyagaraja Swamy Keerthana -“Ksheera Sagara Sayana” narrating the stories of Gajendra Moksha, Draupadi Vastraharanam, Ramadasu Vimukthi, and also a glimpse of showing “How Lord Rama saved Sita Devi from Ravanasura”. The Kuchipudi dance presentation of ‘Krishnam Vande Jagadgurum’, concluded with “Padmanabha Tumahari Leela, Kya Kahoon Main Saawaro”, describing the endless acts and miraculous deeds of Lord Sri Krishna.

The dancers for the evening were: Snehalatha Naroju, J. Harshini, D. Bhavna, G. Valli Sameehana, M. Sai Sathvika, Sai Hamsini, Anjana Kameshwari, Sai Nandana, Renuka Poojitha, Nitya Sri, Akshaya Dhanya, S. Yuvakshi, S. Srihitha, Laxmi Lasya, D. Anwitha and D. Sahasra.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap